Weighing up on the Biggest Loser

I don’t watch a whole lot of TV.

Growing up, my evenings were filled with various active pursuits. I may suck at running and throwing, but I found plenty to do. By the time I got home, it was dinner, homework, then bed time.

Not surprisingly, the routine hasn’t changed entirely. Since I left school, it’s been group fitness, dinner, computer time, bed.

I missed out on TV shows such as Friends. Sometimes I felt left out at school, and wished that I was home to watch them, but I don’t feel I’ve missed out on much. TV still isn’t a very big part of my life. For the first 6 months I lived in Sydney on my own, my TV only got turned on to watch Les Mills DVDs. 

I’ve started switching on the box on a Sunday night though, just for some chill time. I’ve been watching Glee and Gossip Girl on DVD.

Tonight I tuned in for the start of the Biggest Loser.

I’ve watched a handful of episodes in previous seasons, but I’ve found that these reality shows really require you to watch almost all the episodes to really follow what is going on.

Since I’ve moved out (and across the country) of my parents house, I’ve really gained a much better appreciation of the way that they have brought me up.  My mum doesn’t work, so we have been really lucky to have her home to prepare nutritious, great tasting meals… sometimes heavy on the carbs, yes… but with three budding athletes (my sister swims at a high level and my brother is an active with a very slim build) it wasn’t going over the top.

I used to complain that we weren’t normally allowed to eat lollies during the week, and if we did, it was a very special occasion. If we were given lolly bags from parties, they got dished out on Saturday for dessert and we would have great fun arranging a ‘lolly trail’, saving the best for last.

Although I never complained about it, I’m also very appreciative of the fact that my parents put me into sports like swimming, and I did kids aerobics classes for awhile. As mntioned above, I’m terrible at most sports and I can’t run to save my life. I got teased at school for being the slowest runner in the class and because I couldn’t hit a stupid softball, but I’m so glad that I don’t hate physical activity altogether.

Not everyone is so lucky. My upbringing wasn’t perfect, and I’m doing much better at accepting myself, but my parents did the best they knew how to do, and in the whole scheme of things, did a pretty good job.

Thanks Mum & Dad.

Leave a Reply

