The long lost blog

Oh, hello blog!

 

I secretly (or not so secretly) want to be a blogger. I really enjoy reading the plethora of ‘healthy living’ blogs on the internet, mostly written by those at a similar life stage to me – young, professional women who are balancing the challenges of career, relationships, personal life and healthy living. Sadly for me, most of these amazing women are in the US. I love finding out about different foods from them, but I would love some local role models and networks as well.

One of my worst habits is if I can’t do something perfectly, I won’t do it at all. This is where I fall off the wagon, and this needs to stop. There are so many experiences that I want to write down and have a record of, it doesn’t matter if it’s not perfect – it is what it is.

 

The reason why I have chosen to post today? I want to capture the way I feel right at this moment, and be able to look back on this.

Tomorrow at 9am, I’m shadowing BODYBALANCE at our Les Mills Quarterlies – I’ll be up on stage, in front of my fellow instructors.

Since completing AIM 2 in June, it has been a pretty wild ride. I went in simply hoping to give myself longevity in my teaching and to find out how I could continue to develop myself as instructor. I knew I had a long way to go as an instructor, but kept beating myself up for this – not realising it didn’t mean that I was a bad instructor, but just that I had the potential to keep improving. I was floored at the feedback I received and the words I got at the end of the training.

 

At the moment, this is as far as it goes – I get to shadow as a reward for doing well at the training – I would love to end up on the presenting team further down the track but if not, I’ve already achieved so much more than I EVER thought I could. After all, all I set out to do at my training was to get out my comfort zone and teach a class. Anything else was just a cherry on top.

 

Shadowing is a big cherry, but my participants are an even bigger, and more important cherry.

 

I’m going to  have fun and CELEBRATE tomorrow – it’s exactly 8 years to the day since I first set foot in the gym at Zest and signed a contract to join (well, mum signed it for me as I was still underage), & 3 years since I grabbed a microphone for the first time – again, to the day.

 

Leave a Reply

