Shoot for the moon…

and if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.

This quote always used to piss me off, and I don’t think I ever fully understood it.

3 years ago, I thought that getting through my first Les Mills module was a huge achievement, and that if I ever taught a full class, it was a bonus. I never thought that I could actually achieve anything beyond that, and so never really set any goals. Partly because it’s hard to quantify improvements in teaching, but mostly because I really didn’t believe I could.

Bizarre the way things turn out.

I’m pleased and proud that I got the opportunity, but it’s slightly embarrassing to hear from really experienced instructors who I admire and respect, tell me, ‘oh, you must be really good’, without ever having seen me teach. I’m not anything special – I just walked out of module training and kept improving.

I’m not sure what my future has in store for me but the only guarantee I have is that I’ll keep working and keep improving and to always be open to feedback. Almost everything else isn’t under my control, so I’ll just take it as it comes.

Leave a Reply

